What’s in it for me?

Today, as I start a new day in a routine I’ve been doing for a while, I ask myself the question, “What’s in it for me?” Perhaps it’s selfish of me, which people have accused me of being, but I need to ask that question so as to plan for my own life. When I look around me, I feel blessed. I have met people in my life who have had lives more complicated than mine own. I don’t envy them, definitely. They live lives which are governed by others, as our own moon affects the tides. I look at them and I wonder, “What’s in it for me?” Why meet these kinds of people? Should I be learning something from them or should I be effecting change in their lives?

I can only account for my actions, not those of others. But it is increasingly difficult to do nothing when there is a call to action, “subliminal” though it may be. These people are in situations that are not entirely their own doing. It is society that has created a pattern of beliefs that demands that their positions be what they are. And, those of us who understand the weight and pressure of a societal system, AKA family, for example, partly understand the reign they fall under. But, again, I ask, “What’s in it for me?”

In all this, I have a few people in mind. Situations that would call for action in the cases of people who are abused at home and NO ONE DOES ANYTHING. Why does not anyone cry on their behalf? Why is no one outraged that practical heathens are inflicting harm on their ‘loved ones’ on a daily basis? That is wrong! There are those who aren’t safe in their environments because they must share their home with other families, which is not the problem. But when one molests¬†another, simply because the situation for proximity and allowance exist, there MUST be an outcry. Instead, the usual silence emerges the victor. Why? Why must no one evict the rapist-in-the-making so as to try to stop what could become? Eviction both physical and psychological. I will never understand.

I know it seems I’m blabbing, but the question has been plaguing me. What’s in it for me?

I have concluded that I must be the sonorous boom that makes all turn around and ask, “What was that?” It is imperative that we all work towards stopping wrongs in this world or we will become a nation of accomplices. And when the crime arrives at our doorstep, who will help us? Surely, they too will be asking, “What’s in it for me?”

GP

Leave a Reply

